Downsview 5K

Downsview 5K I’ve just completed my 3rd 5K,  just 6 seconds off my “PB” (personal best, a term I learned along the way).  Again, it was a difficult day weather wise. Crazy windy!! and cold, with a touch of sprinkles.(thankfully it never turned into heavy rain)

And unlike the Scotiabank Marathon, which completely overwhelmed me emotionally,  this time it didn’t phase me.

And this time I was ready. I had been training. And I had proper shoes, and proper clothes, and confidence, and music!
I knew not to get caught up in the adrenaline rush of the ‘group’ at the start, and keep my own pace, not theirs.
I felt strong.  I felt good. And I was happy.
I smiled for a good portion of the run.
And this time when I finished, I laughed and high-fived my friend waiting at the finish. And even with the brutal winds, I just missed my PB by 6 seconds! LOL!

It is exhilarating. And it’s mine. I run for me. I run against me.
I’m not perfect, but I don’t have to be.

Leave a Reply

