Summertime, Summertime…

sum, sum, summertime…

ya… so I kinda suck at keeping up with my blog . When things are going well I don’t want to jinx it. When things suck, I’m tired of the conversation in my head, so I don’t feel I should subject anyone else to it.

So the post before my last entry was actually a miss-post. Meant for my racing blog. But upon reflection, it seemed appropriate for this one too, so I left it. That said, it was kind of a cliffhanger (as is my M.O.) so here is the follow up to that:  And So It Continues…

I have continued with racing, even though I continue to be kicked in the nards at every turn. Apparently I’m paying for some kind of karmic misstep somewhere in a past life. Or maybe even this one, who knows. Anyway, if you’re so inclined, feel free to subscribe/follow that blog as well as it’s a major part of my life. (and likely one of the reasons I am forever late blogging over here) It’s the “Fast” part of Fast.Food.Focus

Continuing on the “fast” side of things, I went on an extended road trip at the end of May, and part of that journey entailed writing up a consumer review for Honda Canada for one of their sporty new cars. If you’re a car person or are just bored,  please check out my “Ode to a car…”

Shameful Plug: If you have a service or product you would like reviewed by someone a little quirky/unconventional… I’m all ears!

On the work front, after months, yes MONTHS, we finally shutdown the physical office and went to a virtual office. I thought that would fix everything, but it appears it didn’t. Though I am much happier working from home (see last post), I am not as happy with the ‘work’ I am doing. That is just a case of “same shit, different location”. I thought things had changed, were changing, etc… but I find myself rolling my eyes at the same bullshit as before. I want the work I am doing to matter. No matter what that work is. I want it to mean something. To have a positive effect. It’s so hard to explain. I wish I was the type of person that was happy to get paid to do the same thing over and over again, and clean up other people’s messes. But I’m not. I try to disengage. I try not to take it personally. But I do. Why can’t people mean what they say, say what they mean, and do what they promise? Is integrity that elusive a quality these days? Really? Maybe we’re all just in an adjustment period. I don’t know. I’ll give it a little more time.

Anyway, the benefit of working as a freelance contractor, is that I can set my hours, and when I engage them, so that makes it a little more bearable. If I find I’m getting frustrated, I shut the lid on my computer and switch gears.  It also means I can add things like walks, naps, matinees, and other freelance jobs into the mix, which helps with my sanity.

Will this working from home last? If I can nab a few more freelance gigs, then definitely. If not, then I will likely look at picking up a part-time job of some sort come the fall, once racing season wraps up.

For now though, I am hoping to take advantage of the ‘summer’ this year, while trying not to live beyond my means. Eat well, sleep well, socialize as much as my solitary self can handle, and try not to beat myself up too much.

Leave a Reply

