I think I’m going to like this…

at least until I have to go back to the rat race like a “real” adult…

What is “this” you ask?

Long, lingering, late, lunches on a sunbathed patio, with a glass of sangria, a cool breeze, and the sounds of Satchmo singing “La Vie En Rose”in my headphones.

I use to walk past those people, as I was rushing, and grumpy, and hungry, and stressed, and I’d indignantly wonder “what the hell do they do that they can sit on a patio in the middle of the day?”

Now I know the answer.

They live.

They’ve chosen a different path.

Perhaps, like me, they’ve spent their life working like a dog, and finally decided, just before the halfway point (or perhaps long past the halfway point… who really knows for sure how much time I have left on this journey) that it’s time to work just enough to really live and enjoy each day.

I’ve always lived paycheque to paycheque, but lived with an overwhelming sense of guilt that I didn’t have a retirement plan, or a house, or a family, or any of the other normal things that people have or want or work towards.

So I this year I decided to change my attitude. If I’m going to live paycheque to paycheque, then so be it.

There is nothing wrong with that. I’m going to embrace it. Enjoy it.

I would rather have 20 little jobs and a million experiences, than one job and none.

Leave a Reply

