Do the right thing…

but for whom?

I am quitting my job. I know this.
I made the decision definitively over the holidays when for the first time in months, I didn’t end every single day angry and in tears.

So here’s my dilemma:
Do I come clean about it now? Giving ample notice, and transition out of the job in a classy above board way? Or do I wait and give a potentially shitty amount of notice and let the chips fall where they may?

I don’t want to be that person that blindsides their boss. I’m not a vindictive person. But at the same time, I know how he operates. I know I risk not getting paid.
But really, they have no choice but to keep me on at least until the end of the month. Sadly, I get paid AFTER I’ve completed the hours, not before.

I’m going to go thru the motions of the meeting this afternoon to ‘discuss tasks/schedules’, and then make sure I get paid (PD is Sunday)

I guess I have to just trust that they’ll do the right thing. I can’t become a person I don’t want to be because of the actions or potential actions of someone else.

If they fuck me over, then I will be vindicated/validated for wanting out.
If they don’t, then I will be pleasantly surprised, and will be able to leave on a high note and maintain a friendship with them going forward, which I would like.

…. ugh… decisions, decisions…

UPDATE: Resignation letter written. To be delivered in person on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

