Lullaby for myself

I remember when I first heard this song, it resonated so deeply at the time. I was separated, with a pending divorce on the horizon, gaining my independent footing and figuring out who I was and what I wanted out of my life moving forward… I heard it tonight again, and thought it was worthy of a share.

Self-contained and self-content, no promises to keep
I’ve got things so together that I just can’t fall asleep
Walked the night and drank the moon, got home at half-past four.
And I knew that no-one marked my time as I unlocked my door.

It’s really lovely to discover that you like to be alone
Not to owe your man an answer when he gets you on the phone
Not to share a pair of porkchops when you crave champagne and cheese
And your aim becomes to please yourself and not to aim to please
Oh they sold me when they told me two can live as cheap as one
But I’m learning twice you’re earning doesn’t mean it’s twice the fun
If you spend your each dime and all your time on someone else’s schemes
I’m not needy but I’m greedy and I live my deepest dreams
Take an hour in the shower use the water while it’s hot
In the tub a hand to scrub my back is all I haven’t got.

Self-aware with self-esteem is selfishness a crime?
I take the day for quite a ride and I take my own sweet time
Time to spare and time to share and grateful I would be
If just one damn man would share the need to be alone with me.

Leave a Reply

